Before the castle was finished in 1871, a wooden court mansion was taken down and the beautiful castle emerged in its place on a slight hill. Heymann appreciated the unprecedented period of prosperity of the Empire after the war between Germany and France to such an extent that he ordered to mount the following phrase next to the staircase that led to the castle tower: "I was built in the period of great prosperity, it was a pleasure to see these times". This phrase exists to this date. The first owner of the castle was so rich that he wrote a letter to the Tsar of Russia requesting permission to finish the floor in one of the castle chambers with golden coins. The Tsar agreed under the condition that the coins were applied vertically one next to another. He did not want anyone to profane the Tsar's image by stepping on the coins.. Heymann did not expect such a response and had to give up on the idea as this would exceed his financial capability - it's such a shame... Heymann owned the castle until 1912, when it was sold to Emil Phyrkosch who was one of the biggest chemical fertilizers manufacturer at these times in Raciborz. According to the legend Emil's all twelve grandchildren came to the Wiekszyce castle every summer. They spent their summer rowing boats in the castle pond. In order to teach his grandchildren to respect the value of money, they were asked to collect raspberries and other forest fruits in the nearby woods for a while and were then remunerated for this task. They were allowed to ride the 4th class trains and were paid the difference between the 4th and 3rd class. In order for the grandchildren not to get late for meals, Emil imposed financial penalties for being late. Despite a large number of servants, the grandchildren were asked to do their beds on their own. This impressed the grandchildren. The local society was allowed to drink freely from the well situated in the park . It was the grandchildren's everyday task to bring a pot of water from the well before their meals. The same water was used to baptise all of the grand and great grandchildren.
Shortly before World War II, Emil Phyrkosch donated the property to charity. As result a kindergarden was created here. During the war the palace was adopted by the Red Cross hospital for German officers and then Soviet officers after the occupation. Between 1946 and 1986 the palace was adopted by the Folk High School.
Since 2003 the palace has become a private property again.
The conservation work involved the following: cleaning and completion of the external clinker elevation, roofing replacement by titan and zinc sheets, replacement of windows and door wings, reconstruction of two terraces that have been taken down in the 90's, mounting of a staircase and installation of a granite floor in the whole palace, replacement of the entire electric and water and sewage installation. Granite stones have also been applied around the palace as well as alley and external illumination have been installed.
The Wiekszyce Palace Restaurant offers seven unique rooms which may be adjusted according to individual requirements.
A marble staircase with original fresque decoration leads to the Wiekszyce Palace Restaurant. The staircase required a few months of advanced renovation techniques before the current stunning result was finally achieved and now invites our guests whose appreciation for this piece of art leaves no room for hesitation in reaching for what's inside.